TuneLab for iPhone

I bought the iPhone port of TuneLab a few days ago, and finally got around to using it to tune the Omega yesterday.

Up until now I had been using Verituner Pocket. It worked fine, with my main gripes being a somewhat clumsy user interface and the fact that my old Pocket PC device’s battery could no longer hold a charge and had to be connected to the mains all the time it was in use.

I am happy to report that TuneLab works better for me on two counts:

  1. Inharmonicity measurements are more accurate because you can quickly make several measurements of IH for a single note and take the average
  2. The combination of phase display and spectrum display made it much easier to get clean bichord and trichord unisons. My aural skills aren’t good enough to tune unisons by ear so I have to rely on the electronic tuner to help me do it.

I used the automatically generated tuning curves and the supplied EBVT III temperament offsets.

The result is better than any tuning I have done with Verituner Pocket. The one thing I need to do is to increase the stretch in the top one-and-a-half to two octaves. It sounds a tad flat to my old ears.

I doubt I will ever be able to get an EBVT III tuning of the quality that an aural tuner can get using Bill Bremmer’s techniques. But what I can achieve on my own using TuneLab is pretty good anyway.

4 responses

  1. I used Tunelab for years, but made the expensive move to Verituner because it has by far the best reputation of all the electronic tuners on the market. It took some getting used to, but running Verituner on a Netbook has given me tunings that are incomparably better than anything Tunelab can possibly produce. The reason? Tunelab provides a very crude approximation of the piano’s overall inharmonicity; Verituner provides a note by note curve based on each note’s inharmonicity. This produces something very close to an aural tuning, not the idealized inharmonicity curve that Tunelab creates.

    Nocomparlison. Really.

    • Hi John,

      Thanks for your comment. I was using Verituner previously, on an old HTC Windows Mobile phone. I abandoned it because the HTC phone died, so I wrote off the cost and got Tunelab for my iPhone. Verituner wasn’t available for iOS then. I am now contemplating getting Verituner for the iPhone, but its pretty costly. Couldn’t find it at first on the Singapore iTunes store, but Dave Carpenter kindly put it there in the last couple of days.

      /Ben

  2. The trickiest part of Verituner is measuring inharmonicity. Unlike Tunelab, you can’t manually throw out IH readings you don’t like. The program does that automatically. So you have to make sure you pick a technique for measurement that is uniform (hammer blow strength, muting, mic position)

Leave a Reply

