These scale exercises work!

Jason Sifford (‘Kreisler’ in PW) posted a draft of a document describing how to practice scales. Download it HERE. Read the original thread HERE.

As a quick test I tried one exercise to see if it would work. The ‘Dotted Rhythms’ exercise helps you to play scales more evenly, accurately, rapidly and with better articulation. I first played all the major scales using the dotted rhythms pattern, left-hand and right-hand separately, and then played them again the usual way, with a straight rhythm. The improvement was immediate. I then played the same scales hands together, and experienced similar improvement. Quite remarkable and mysterious.

Edit: And it works too with fast passage work! I just tried it with a couple of Hanon exercises.

2 responses

  1. Nice one Digitus, just what my teach has been asking me to do lately and it’s really useful to have the extra info in Jason’s article and thread to lean on 🙂 I have certainly found that dotted rhythms are helping me pick up the fast passage work in Beethoven Op 10 no.1 mvt 3 🙂

  2. I guess not all teachers know about practice techniques like this. My teachers way back when I was still taking lessons never told me about this, and I wonder if they even knew about it. Would have helped me a lot! Still, better late than never. 😉

Leave a Reply

