New Beethoven sonata scores & book about Arrau

I finally took delivery of two very interesting publications:

I had to order the scores online because I couldn’t find them in Singapore. They are available only on EP’s New York web store, and ship only to US addresses. The book by Horowitz on Arrau is no longer in print, so I had to buy a second-hand copy from another book retailer, via Amazon.com. Again, shipping is only to US addresses. I had both orders shipped to my brother (who lives in Fairfax, VA), who in turn sent them on to me. It took a while though because he was renovating and moving into a new home, and kept forgetting to send them off.

I mentioned in a post sometime ago that Arrau’s Beethoven piano sonata cycle is now my preferred one, so I was excited to discover that Arrau had edited an ‘urtext’ version for Edition Peters. Like the Schnabel edition, Arrau also offers performance markings, but better in the sense that his editorial markings are clearly differentiated from those of the composer’s.

Leave a Reply

