First recording

HERE. It’s the theme from the first movement of Beethoven’s piano sonata Op. 26. Done after a couple of hours of tuning an Almost Equal temperament with clean stretch. My hands were pretty stiff after the tuning session so the playing was pretty shaky and I got my fingers in a twist in the two trills. The microphone technique and position are not right yet. The resonance and brilliance of the tone have not been properly captured. The acoustic is also too dry. I was using Mid-Side stereo. Might try a Blumlein pair next, or maybe a pair of spaced omnis.

2 responses

  1. Digitus,
    Bravo! I really enjoyed this.
    As you are aware I am now enjoying the Sauter sound myself with my new MasterClass M122

    regards,
    Tweedpipe

  2. Thanks Tweedpipe! Actually I think its a bad recording — too metronomic in parts and rhythmically uneven in others!

    Yes I know about your M122. I am sure that you are having a great time on it! Congratulations on the purchase of a fine piano!

Leave a Reply

