The Schiff lectures on Beethoven’s piano sonatas

Back in 2006 Andras Schiff gave a series of lecture-recitals at the Wigmore Hall in London, covering the 32 Beethoven piano sonatas with opus numbers. I downloaded the entire series over a year ago, and I’ve been dipping into it on and off since then. It is a very good layman’s introduction to the sonatas. If you listen to the late-period sonatas (the last five from number 28, Op. 101 to number 32, Op. 111), you will find that the music still sounds very fresh, and indeed already points strongly in the direction of Romanticism.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: