Desperate times, desperate measures?

For want of a keyboard to play on I finally set-up my ancient Roland A-80 MIDI controller keyboard, sending MIDI data to an equally ancient E-mu Proteus 1/XR. Both keyboard and sound module date back to 1990. The Proteus’ analog outputs were sent to the Konnekt 24D (operating in standalone mode).

So I now had something to play on. But the sound! Oh, the sound!! It is simply awful!!! I guess there wasn’t much E-mu could do back in the late 1980’s to cram more than basic samples into 4MB of ROM. I also have to use headphones and my tinnitus is now worse than ever. I think maybe I will just wait out the the rest of month for the Omega to arrive.

Leave a Reply

