And then I tune to EBVT

I bought Verituner Pocket and a tuning kit for two reasons:

  1. To keep my piano in tune as much of the time as possible; and
  2. So that I can try different temperaments.

It would have been too costly to hire somebody to do these things. Besides, I had little confidence in finding a tech in Singapore who could give me the temperaments I wanted to try. Heck, most of the time an attempt at ET results in a tuning that is not ET!

So, the morning after my first attempt to tune the K-8 myself, I started to tune it again. This time to something other than ET.

The first temperament I wanted to try was Bill Bremmer‘s Equal-Beating Victorian Temperament (EBVT). It is a mild Well temperament, invented by Bill back in 1992, and tweaked a couple of times since then with the help of people like Owen Jorgensen and Jason Kanter. I had read Bill Bremmer’s posts on PW where he described the reaction of people playing on pianos tuned to EBVT. It was as if they playing on a completely different instrument, one that sounded more musical. So EBVT it would be for me too. After loading up Verituner with the EBVT profile and the Average stretch style, it took me 3 hours to get the job done.

I didn’t know quite what to expect. How much difference could there be? Well, I was blown away by what I heard. The piano sounded fantastic! I’ll stick with it for a while before trying another temperament. In the meantime, it appears that the Verituner’s EBVT programming needs a little bit of tweaking. There is discussion in this PW thread.

The next temperament I will try is likely to be Just. My interest in it was sparked by a couple of articles by Kyle Gann here and here.

Leave a Reply

